Kansas Aggregate Producers Association


Kansas Ready Mixed Concrete Association

KAPA 2016 Nomination Form/ KRMCA 2016 Nomination Form

The KAPA-KRMCA Safety and Environment Committee is proud to show continued support for the truck drivers within our industry that make our businesses a success. We are, once again, calling for nominations from our membership for the KAPA-KRMCA Driver of the Year. This award recognizes and acknowledges the great contribution that professional drivers make to our industry and to our state. We have expanded the contest by adding the category Rookie of the Year. Also, this year you will receive a $5 gift card to Starbucks with your nomination.

The judging criterion for this award includes all mixer drivers who have driven for at least 12 consecutive months covering the time period from October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016 are eligible. The Rookie of the Year must have driven for at least one year, but no more than two years by October 31, 2016. Contract drivers may be included in the program.

This year’s winner will be honored and recognized at our annual meeting January 11-13, 2017, Overland Park Marriott, Overland Park, Kansas. In addition to this, the winner will receive a cash award of $250. This program is designed to promote safety and motivate your personnel. Make a nomination from your company!!

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this program, please feel free to contact the association office at (785) 235-1188 or email jscott@kapa-krmca.org.

2014 KAPA-KRMCA Driver of the Year Winners

Shon Rowe, Wade Quarries, LaCygne

Shon Rowe hauls aggregate for Wade Quarries from their four plant locations in eastern Kansas. Shon’s safety record is impeccable. He has not been involved in a driving accident in more than 10 years while hauling rock, sand, gravel, and asphalt in both Kansas and Missouri. Many customers request Shon to deliver their rock and work on their property. In addition, Shon has a positive attitude, pays attention to detail, regards safety and safety of others, and is highly dependable. Not to mention, he keeps his truck well maintained and clean even driving down gravel roads and quarry pits.

Shon was nominated by Wade Quarries COO, Jonathan Amborn.

Steve Harp, Andale Ready Mix Central, Inc., Wichita

Earl has been an employee of Salina Concrete Products (SCP) since May of 2009 and during his employment has proven to be an invaluable asset. Earl keeps his truck very clean due to attention to detail and work ethic. He is also very diligent in monitoring the quality of concrete in his truck, ensuring that customers get the highest quality concrete possible. Earl is a model employee representing SCP specifically and the Ready Mix industry in general when he is on and off the clock. 

Earl was nominated by his boss, Peter Browning, General Manager of Salina Concrete Products.


2013 KAPA Driver of the Year - James Ball - Alsop Sand Co., Inc., Concordia

2013 KRMCA Driver of the Year - Earl Krug, Salina Concrete Products, Salina

2012 KAPA Diver of the Year - Francisco Ruiz, Jr. Eakin Enterprises, Larned

2012 KRMCA Driver of the Year - Robert Acosta, Andale Ready Mix Central, Inc., Wichita

2011 KAPA Driver of the Year - Brian Gillett, Eakin Enterprises

2011 KRMCA Driver of the Year - Sammy Proctor, Concrete Materials Co.

2010 KAPA Driver of the Year - Terry Sigler, Harshman Construction

2010 KRMCA Driver of the Year - Chris Magee, Lafarge North America

2009 KAPA Driver of the Year - Troy Martin, Eakin Enterprises

2009 KRMCA Driver of the Year - Larry Hague, Lafarge KS & MO

Copyright 2016 KAPA-KRMCA. All rights reserved.

800 SW Jackson St., Suite 1408
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: (785) 235-1188 | Fax: (785) 235-2544 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software